News DailyDish Players
Radio Discuss

RMJHL disbands after three seasons Junior Hockey News

Published: Tuesday, 22 May 2018  
By: Scott Ludwig

After three seasons the Rocky Mountain Junior Hockey League (RMJHL) has called it quits. The league announced today that it would not continue and all operations have ceased.

The five-team league based in Colorado struggled to gain ground amongst the growing hockey state. Over three years of existence eight teams competed for at least one season.

Colorado Rampage, Colorado Thunderbirds and Pikes Peak Miners were the remaining “original” teams from season one. Breckenridge Bucks and Glacier Yetis played just one season (2015-16) while the Aspen Leafs went dark after two.

The league expanded with Steamboat Wranglers joining for the 2016-17 campaign. A second team from Breckenridge (Bolts) entered play last season.

RMJHL champions

2016  Aspen Leafs

2017  Pikes Peak Miners

2018  Steamboat Wranglers

Author: Scott Ludwig

* Disclaimer: This site may contain advice, opinions and statements from various authors and information providers. Views expressed in this article reflect the personal opinion of the author, Scott Ludwig, and not necessarily the views of does not represent or endorse the accuracy or reliability of any advice, opinion, statement or other info provided in the article, or from any other member of this site.
See more of by logging in
Your online community for Junior Hockey!