News DailyDish Players
Radio Discuss

Robertson Cup field set with Fairbanks, Shreveport, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, and Minot Junior Hockey News

Published: Monday, 7 May 2018  
By: Alex Kyrias

Robertson Cup Championship begins on May 11th at Fogerty Arena in Blaine, MN
BLAINE, MINNESOTA – The North American Hockey League (NAHL) has announced the schedule and teams for the 2018 Robertson Cup National Championship, which will be played at Fogerty Ice Arena in Blaine, Minnesota, from May 11-14. The Robertson Cup is awarded to the national playoff champion of the NAHL.
The four divisional playoff champions who have qualified for the 2018 Robertson Cup Championship are: #1 Fairbanks Ice Dogs (Midwest Division), #2 Shreveport Mudbugs (South Division), #3 Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Knights (East Division), and the #4 Minot Minotauros (Central Division). Clubs were seeded 1-4 for the event based upon their finish in the NAHL regular-season standings.
For more information on the Robertson Cup Championship Tournament, including schedule, scout information, ticket information, hotels, rental cars and other event information, visit
All 2018 NAHL Robertson Cup Playoff games can be viewed live and in HD on HockeyTV.
The #1 Seed will face the #4 seed in a best of three series. The #2 seed will face the #3 seed in a best of three series. The two series winners will advance to a one-game Championship Game to determine the Robertson Cup Champion.
2018 NAHL Robertson Cup Schedule (all times central)
Thursday, May 10, Team Practices: Fairbanks, 11:00am | Minot, 12:15pm | Shreveport, 1:30pm | Wilkes-Barre. 2:45pm
Friday, May 11, Game 1: #1 Fairbanks vs. #4 Minot, 4:30pm | #2 Shreveport vs. #3 Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, 7:30pm
Saturday, May 12, Game 2: #1 Fairbanks vs. #4 Minot, 4:30pm | #2 Shreveport vs. #3 Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, 7:30pm
Sunday, May 13, Game 3: #1 Fairbanks vs. #4 Minot, 3:00pm | #2 Shreveport vs. #3 Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, 6:00pm*
Monday, May 14: Robertson Cup National Championship Game, 7:00pm
*if necessary
Overtime Procedure: During the all Robertson Cup Championship games, if the score is tied after three periods of play the following overtime procedure shall take place. Teams shall return to their dressing room and the ice shall be resurfaced. A fifteen-minute intermission shall take place. A twenty-minute, sudden death, overtime period shall be played with five skaters a side. The game shall terminate upon a goal being scored and the Club scoring declared the winner. If no goal is scored, the same procedure as above shall be repeated until a winner has been determined.

Author: Alex Kyrias
Alex Kyrias is in his fifth season as Director of Communications and Sales for the North American Hockey League.

* Disclaimer: This site may contain advice, opinions and statements from various authors and information providers. Views expressed in this article reflect the personal opinion of the author, Alex Kyrias, and not necessarily the views of does not represent or endorse the accuracy or reliability of any advice, opinion, statement or other info provided in the article, or from any other member of this site.
See more of by logging in
Your online community for Junior Hockey!