News DailyDish Players
Radio Discuss

BCHL Awards winners Junior Hockey News

Published: Wednesday, 28 Feb 2018  
By: Brent Mutis, BCHL

With all voting now complete, the players claiming the hardware for the 2017-18 season are now known.

It was a poll of the league's head coaches that led to the results.

The Wenatchee Wild will have to make room in the display case as they have three individuals picking up honours. It's the second year in a row the Wild have had three winners.

In all, four teams had trophy winners. Unlike last year, the Goaltending Award was voted on this time. In the past, it simply went to the goalie with the lowest goals-against average and 1,000 minutes played.

Here are this year's winners:

Vern Dye Memorial Trophy (MVP) - Jasper Weatherby, Wenatchee Wild

Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy (Rookie of the Year) - Alex Newhook, Victoria Grizzlies (unanimous)

Top Defenceman Trophy - Cooper Zech, Wenatchee Wild

Top Goaltender Award - Ty Taylor, Vernon Vipers

Bob Fenton Trophy (Most Sportsmanlike) - Ben Poisson, Prince George Spruce Kings

Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy (Coach of the Year) - Bliss Littler, Wenatchee Wild

Non-voting awards:

Brett Hull Trophy (Top scorer) - Jasper Weatherby, Wenatchee Wild (37-37-74)

Wally Forslund Trophy (Top goalie tandem) - Ty Taylor & Anthony Yamnitsky, Vernon Vipers (1.98 combined GAA)

Ron Boileau Memorial Trophy (Regular-season champions) - Penticton Vees (86 points)

Author: Brent Mutis from BCHL
Brent joined the British Columbia Hockey League in December 2010

* Disclaimer: This site may contain advice, opinions and statements from various authors and information providers. Views expressed in this article reflect the personal opinion of the author, Brent Mutis, and not necessarily the views of does not represent or endorse the accuracy or reliability of any advice, opinion, statement or other info provided in the article, or from any other member of this site.
See more of by logging in
Your online community for Junior Hockey!